Wednesday, June 7, 2017

RDO Sweeps City Committee Election

Tuesday's election included contests for the most grassroots of all elective offices, one male and one female representative in each of the city's 34 voting districts. The Regular Democratic Organization of Union County (aka Column A) took 60 of the 68 seats, likely ensuring a smooth process Monday when the new city committee members meet to elect a chairman and ward leaders for the next two years.

Mayor Adrian O. Mapp won the Plainfield chairmanship in 2015, taking it from Assemblyman Jerry Green, who retained the Union County chairmanship. A query to Mapp on whether he would seek another term as city chairman was not immediately returned.

Mapp said Wednesday, "I intend to seek the support of the elected committee members to continue as chair of the PDCC."

Green and Mapp have been at odds in the past, but joined to run in the June primary on the Column A ticket headed by Phil Murphy for governor. Mapp won out over three challengers for the mayoral spot on the November ballot and Green is seeking another two-year term representing District 22 in the state Assembly.

Within the city's four wards, the RDO committee candidates won 14 of 16 seats in Ward 1, 20 of 22 seats in Ward 2, 19 of 20 seats in Ward 3 and seven of 10 seats in Ward 4. The slate aligned with mayoral candidate Tracey Brown won four seats citywide and Democrats of Plainfield, aligned with Councilwoman Bridget Rivers' bid for mayor, picked up two committee seats in Ward 4. There was a tie for the male seat in Ward 1, District 3 and Peter Price won the Ward 2, District 6 seat with a write-in campaign

Among interesting outcomes, Alex Toliver and Councilwoman Diane Toliver ran as Democrats of Plainfield in Ward 1, District 6 but lost to RDO challengers. RDO winners overcame Democrats of Plainfield committee candidates Rivers and Ray Edwards in Ward 4, District 3. Rebecca Williams, who defeated Brown in November 2016 for the citywide at-large council seat, also defeated Brown Tuesday for the Ward 2, District 11 committee seat.


No comments:

Post a Comment